III.1. Hate speech

Policy Rationale

We do not allow hate speech on Hahalolo because it creates an environment of intimidation and exclusion and in some cases may promote real-world violence.

Hate speech is a direct attack on people based on what we call protected characteristics — race, ethnicity, national origin, religious affiliation, sexual orientation, caste, psychological problems, gender, gender identity, and serious disease or disability. 

We define attack as violent or dehumanizing speech, statements of inferiority, or calls for exclusion or segregation. We separate attacks into three tiers of severity, as described below.

Sometimes people share content containing someone else’s hate speech for the purpose of raising awareness or educating others. Similarly, in some cases, words or terms that might otherwise violate our standards are used self-referentially or in an empowering way. In all of these cases, we allow the content but expect people to clearly indicate their intent, which helps us better understand why they shared it. When the intention is unclear, we may remove the content.

We allow humorous and social commentary related to these topics. In addition, we believe that people are more responsible when they share this kind of commentary using their authentic identity.

Do not post:

Tier 1:

Offensive content directed at a person or group of people who have one of the aforementioned characteristics or immigration status (including all the features mentioned, except for those described as violence crimes or sexual offenses), in which offense is defined as:

  1. Any violent speech or support in written or visual form;
  2. Dehumanizing speech such as associating or comparing with:
    • Insects;
    • Animals that are culturally perceived as intellectually or physically inferior;
    • Filth, bacteria, disease and feces;
    • Sexual predator;
    • Subhumanity;
    • Violent and sexual criminals;
    • Other criminals (including but not limited to “thief,” “robbery”…).
  3. Mocking the concept, events or victims of hate crimes even if no real person is depicted in an image;
  4. Designated dehumanizing comparisons, expressed in both written and visual forms.

Tier 2:

Offensive content targeting a person or group of people who have one of the aforementioned characteristics, in which offense is defined as:

  1. Statements or images that refer to the physical, mental or moral disability of a person or a group of people;
    • Physical (including but not limited to "malformed", "undeveloped", "abhorrent", "ugly ...);
    • Mentally (including but not limited to "retarded", "dull", "low intelligence", "ignorance", "stupid ...");
    • Ethical (including but not limited to "sluttish", "dummy", "cheap", "parasitic ...).
  2. Expressions of contempt or visual equivalent including (but not limited to):
    • "X is the worst";
    • "Atrocious";
    • "Raffish";
    • "Disgusting".
    • Cursing a person or group of people who have protected characteristics.

Tier 3:

Offensive content is the call to eliminate or isolate a person or a group of people based on the above characteristics.

Content that describes or negatively targets people with slurs, where slurs are defined as words commonly used as insulting signs for the above-listed characteristics.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request